Easter Sunday 2017: Britania, SDS

April 16, 2017

Woke up early to attend the Catholic tradition “salubong” of the Risen Christ and the Virgin Mary. After a whole night of continuous rain we were blessed with a shimmering, glowing and fiery sunrise.

Following my lead to go somewhere hotter, my family and I packed our bags, brought foods, sunblock and lots of water and hopped on the old reliable Sportivo. We were suppose to go to Cagwait White Beach, but the pack kept asking, “are we there yet?”.  Since I was driving and we are passing through Salvacion in SDS, I turned left (coming from Lianga) and  headed instead to Britania Islands in Salvacion, San Agustin,  Surigao del Sur.  So much for the serene Cagwait!

That’s a 6-hour drive back and forth. I have to limit my speed to 80KMH, I have kids on board and the number one backseat driver in the whole world, my mama!

IMG_3538

My fave travel buddy (daughter ZZ)  on the boardwalk looking for the rented pumpboat.

IMG_3545

These islets are breathtaking whether far or near.  I don’t know what it is, but there is something about an islet or an island that makes my heart go fluttery.

IMG_3552

Five years ago, the first time my husband, my daughter and I set foot on this island there weren’t any stalls that offer food and drinks.  Commercialization is on its way. Tourists should be briefed on what to do and what not to leave.  The shore is now littered with styrofoam and plastic cups and junkfood wrappers. *sigh

IMG_3569

The rented pumpboat took us to four islands, Hagonoy, Hiyo-hiyoran, Naked and Boslon Islands.

IMG_3574IMG_3581IMG_3582

They have safety marshalls now! How cool is that?!

IMG_3584

Approaching Boslon Island.

IMG_3586

Just can’t get enough of the safety marshalls. They’re everywhere!

IMG_3591

My family! They seldom go with me on road trips. LOL. Their idea of unwinding is to stay at home and watch TV.

IMG_3605

The signage is a give-away to the island’s name.

IMG_3608

Naked Island. Nope the people don’t go around naked. It is all white sand! No trees, no grasses. Not even a shade to shelter you from the punishing heat of the sun!

IMG_3632

Burnt!

IMG_3647

My lady TKD blackbelt just wanted to kick some air.

IMG_3649

Just showing off the new cover up. *flips hair

IMG_3703

..just because…

IMG_3714

Star (fish) in her eye.

IMG_3719

My family! Minus 2 sisters, 1 brother, 2 nephews, 1 niece, 1 sister-in-law and 1 brother-in-law.

IMG_3725

Uma-awra!

About qzlove116

..cliched...
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

